GK's V10

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
gk108
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

GK's V10

Post by gk108 »

I guess it's time to start a thread on this build. I'm building this V10 from 1994 vintage plans that Jacques' daughter sold on ebay last year. No sheets of build notes were included, but hopefully it will be a simple enough build that they won't be all that necessary.

This will be a rowing & sailing version with capability of adding an outboard. Since this is my first attempt at a sailboat, I'm going to tackle the mast, sprit and sail before building the hull. For various reasons, I've decided to use a Bolger 40 sq. ft. leg o' mutton sail plan. The original plan is for a 32 sq. ft. sprit sail and the newer versions list a 35 sq. ft. sail. Following the path of other V10 builders, I wanted to increase sail area, but still want to keep the capability of downsizing to the original plan if I decide I need to store the mast and sprit inside the boat when I win the big lottery and need a dinghy for the yacht. :D With the sail plan I'm going to use, the CE will be within an inch or so of the original, giving me more area without having to worry about relocating the mast step and partner.

Here's a simplified sail plan. Obviously, the hull isn't drawn right, but the basic dimensions are to scale.
The mast will be a little tall initially to allow some adjustments if necessary. Mast is 13'5", sprit boom is going to be just short of 9' long.

Here's the basic dimensions of the sail.
I'll make the first one from polytarp or tyvek and then make a dacron version based on how the starter sail works.