GV10 - Fast Garvey 10 - Waiting to fish in Salt Lake

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
Spcmnspff
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

GV10 - Fast Garvey 10 - Waiting to fish in Salt Lake

Post by Spcmnspff »

This is my first build. I really like the support from Bateau given the forums and resources provided to the builder. This ultimately led to my decision to buy the plans from this site.

I needed a boat that I could car top. Our family vehicle is a GMC Yukon XL so we have a little extra room on top. The S.O. wants a pop-up camper soon, so I needed an alternative way to transport the boat given the fact that the hitch will be taken. Another factor is weight - hence the GV10 and not the GV11 and budget is somewhat of a concern as well.

Fortunately, Salt lake has a local macbeath's hardwood retail outlet. I called them first and figured it would cost $200 in plywood using aquatek 6566. I spent 3 weeks trying to find a cheaper source of acceptable alternatives with no luck. Actually their current prices for 1/4" at 43.00 are comparable to ultraply XL, which I cant find in salt lake anyway. There really isn't much savings using that stuff compared to the quality difference with true marine grade ply. I'm not saying quality boats cant be built out of ultraply (heh I read those posts too) - just that at 30 - 40 bucks a sheet anyway, why not use aquatek? - Provided you have a local source of course.