HMD18 - Inside Passage or Bust!!

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
SP
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

HMD18 - Inside Passage or Bust!!

Post by SP »

I received my plans yesterday and have been going through them. They look great.

I am building the HMD18 not only for the experience and enjoyment of building a boat, but to cruise the Inside Passage from Puget Sound to Alaska and back. I picked this boat for this specific trip and it will be built and fitted out with this cruise in mind.

I have some design change ideas and lots of questions about how to fit out the boat, which I will eventually get to, but thought it would be a good idea to attempt a model first. I have never built a model before. We will see what happens.

This is what I accomplished tonight. I would of done more, but I ran out of material.

I am also thinking about taking video to document the process and putting it up on youtube.

I have no idea if I am going to be successful or how long it is going to take, but getting started is sometimes half the battle.

Here is to my next great adventure!!!

gstanfield
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Re: HMD18 - Inside Passage or Bust!!

Post by gstanfield »

Getting started is indeed a major milestone. Building a model is very good as well :D

As to documentation, please oh please give us lots of pictures, videos, whatever you come up with along the way. It helps answer questions that future prospecitve builders may ask as well as lets us help you as we can see what you're doing in the event you have trouble.

...also, we just love pictures :wink:
Previous builds: FL14, NC16, and others...

Current build: FL14 (+10%)

chicagoross
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Post by chicagoross »