Birmingham RB14

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
94Virago
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Birmingham RB14

Post by 94Virago »

Hey, everyone! My name is William Wolfe, but my friends just call me Wolfe. I have chosen to build the 14-foot Runabout. I chose it for a number of reasons. I like the style. I'm looking forward to decking it in mahogany and working out a smooth, beautiful finish. I love the type of boat this is. I'm going to want to just get a boat on the water and drive until I run out of gas -- then fill it up and drive some more. I might even want to invite a young lady to join me. Finally, the size of this boat will fit quite neatly in my garage alongside some other woodworking projects I have going on.

I've been woodworking for several years now. My dad taught me from a young age and it's been a great outlet for both my creative side and that geometric part of my brain.

Several months ago, Dad and I were talking about fishing in the Gulf and he asked me once again why I don't have a boat. Then he brought up that he and his father used to build Glen L boats back when it was all purchased out of the backs of magazines. Over his lifetime, Grandfather had built about five boats.

Prior to that conversation, I had never heard of such a thing. But I was hooked immediately. It took me about four months just to decide which plan to buy, but I finally did it. I took a month to pour over the drawings.

I recently made my inaugural cut.
It's the bowmold, cut from a scrap of birch plywood I had laying around. Being the big kid I am, I took the photo to work on my phone and showed it to absolutely everybody.

Lots of eyerolls.