HC14 Build Two

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
JCordray
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

HC14 Build Two

Post by JCordray »

Hello All!

I have started a second Hiawatha Canoe now and thought I would start another thread to keep you updated.

So far I have only managed to cut out the rubrails and the hull shapes. After I finish this email I will fire up the heater and go epoxy the panels together in the middle to create the full length panels. I think I'm a slow builder as it has taken me about four and a half hours to get this far!

Here are some pics - or their links...

http://gallery.bateau2.com/displayimage.php?pid=46333

http://gallery.bateau2.com/displayimage.php?pid=46334

http://gallery.bateau2.com/displayimage.php?pid=46335

http://gallery.bateau2.com/displayimage.php?pid=46336

There are captions for each picture in the gallery.

Now off to the garage to do some more work!

AMC
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Re: HC14 Build Two

Post by AMC »

If you take the middle nails out from the rub rails, they will start to pre-bend for you.

JCordray
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by JCordray »

Good idea!

Taped joints of panels earlier. I'll go have a look in the morning and make sure all is well.

JCordray
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by JCordray »

So last night I flipped the panels with the able help of Andy, a guy in our church. We stuck some epoxy on with a foam roller and then placed glass tape on each middle joint. On top of that went some cheap plastic bin bags. On top of the bin bags I put on a long plank of wood and then put weights on top of that. I hoped this would produce nice, flat joints.

This morning I went out to have a look and I am really pleased! All five of the joints look very flat.