willg's PH18 - "Yepper" launched 6/11/17

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
willg
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

willg's PH18 - "Yepper" launched 6/11/17

Post by willg »

I am on my way into a Phantom 18! I have been cruising the bateau site for a couple of years now. In fact, I've has the PH18 plans for over 2 years. Like a lot of builders have said, I've got it built (maybe a few times over) in my head. Now I just need to build it. I have the luxury of being close to Houston Hardwoods every Saturday with my boys' activities. It's where I got all the ply. I was generously given the adjustable boat stand by flyfishingmonk. Casey, you'll notice a few mods, but I really do appreciate the time you put into selecting very nice lumber. I have been able to easily adjust it to my uneven garage floor. Once I'm done with it it will be up for grabs again. Just letting you know, Casey, I will be lifting many other ideas from you as well during my build. I am using Silvertip from bateau.

Got a couple of questions: I have been very happy with how the bulkhead/stringers set up on the stand with one exception. The inside stringers stand proud of bulkhead A by 3/8". I think it's due to my inaccuracy in laying out the stringer pattern. I think the choice is either to plane the stringers down in a sweeping manner or to just leave them be and see how the panels come together. I know I'll need to deal with the second option when the boat is flipped, so I'm leaning to option A.