GF16 In The PSL

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
Noles309
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

GF16 In The PSL

Post by Noles309 »

Ok guys, Iv'e had the plans for 6+ months and the materials since the week before Christmas. It's my first build.
My major fault is I tend to over-think/analyze everything almost to the point I don't get anything done.
My first dilemma is whether to build this thing on the garage floor, a set of sawhorses or a table like CL did on his GF18 build. I can see the advantages of the table but is it really worth the extra expense of doing it?

Thanks and this will most likely be the 1st of 10000 questions.
Last edited by Noles309 on Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gary
GF-16 Completed

jacquesmm
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: GF16 In The Pizzle

Post by jacquesmm »

It's a matter of ergonomics: I am older than when I started boat building and my back hurts if I have to build seams and sand on the floor.
You will do a better job with the hull at a comfortable height.

You could assemble the hull on the floor and once it is stiff enough, raise it on pair of saw horses.
Jacques Mertens - Designer
http://boatbuildercentral.com

Cracker Larry
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Post by Cracker Larry »

I'm the same as Jacques, the older I get the more it hurts my back to bend over for long periods. Make it a comfortable working height. I would not build it directly on the floor unless it is a wood floor and you don't mind marking on it, cutting on it or shooting screws into it.

Here is a simple frame that I built a GF16 and a GF12 on.

Completed GF12 X 2, GF16, OD18, FS18, GF5, GF18, CL6
"Ships are the nearest things to dreams that hands have ever made." -Robert N. Rose

Noles309
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *