panga 22 build hull assembly

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
tomcop1990
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

panga 22 build hull assembly

Post by tomcop1990 »

Hi i have recently purchased the panga 22 metric plans as iam in australia , i have never built a boat before and thought it would be a great project , i have some questions about the hull assembly how do you attach the outside ply sheets to the frames when stitching and glueing it together like how do you get the sheets of ply to stick to the frames to take contour of the hull before you glass the joints ? If anyone could help i would really appreciate it cheers tom

Cracker Larry
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: panga 22 build hull assembly

Post by Cracker Larry »

You can do it a couple of ways. Either temporary screws or short pieces of FG tape, or a combination of both. I mostly use small hex head decking screws. They have a coating that epoxy won't bond to, and are much easier than a phillips head to drive and remove.
Completed GF12 X 2, GF16, OD18, FS18, GF5, GF18, CL6
"Ships are the nearest things to dreams that hands have ever made." -Robert N. Rose

BarraMan

Post by BarraMan »

Welcome to the forum! Good to have another Aussie builder here - we should think about having an Aussie Bateau boat builders get-together some time!

I used a plastic cable ties to "stitch" the bottom and side panels to the bulkheads in a couple of places. When its all together, remove the ties and fill the holes with epoxy/wood flour.

tomcop1990
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by tomcop1990 »