Jason fs 18 cnc build rounded chine

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
Jsheaffer
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Jason fs 18 cnc build rounded chine

Post by Jsheaffer »

Good afternoon all. Im jason and im going to try the fs18 cnc rounded chine. This is my first build. I have recd the material glued the stringers and set up the jig. O have a few questions already.
1 the mdf molds in the pdf are labeled as bow d and e.tjey are not they are bow c and d. The only e mold is plywood which the instructions say should be reserved for later. Can someone confirm this for me.
2 this is a dumb one. Im ready to glue the cnc joints. As i underatand the process is to connect the joints, wet them with epoxy, lay fiberglass tape and rewet, the cover with plastic and pressure. What role if any do butt blocks play at thisbstage.
3 should i epixy and tape bothe sides of the pabels and bottom now or just the outside for now. Im pretty sure its outside firat then inside later.
4 last and dumbest..for the rounded chine the cnc has scores where all the cuts are..do i splice the pabels first and then make jigsaw cuts over the scores and through the splices or just cut the scores up to the splices. Sorry for the questions but i am very new to this.
5one last thing, when i glued the stringers together they cane together pretty easily but the cnc slots on the stringer plywood were a bit too narrow to fit over the mdf. Im worried about this because of the firat question. I rechecked and rechecked over and over but im sure the mdf mold with the curve is a c mold and not a d mold. Thanks for the feedback.

Dutch1
Active Poster
Active Poster

Re: Jason fs 18 cnc build rounded chine

Post by Dutch1 »