Bob's FS18

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
toadfish
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Bob's FS18

Post by toadfish »

OK, here we go. I've been working for a few months now, just incredibly slack about posting build progress, and will need to get caught. Ordered the FS18 CNC kit on Monday, March 11 and, because I had already been checking out build threads, the strong back was ready to go when it arrived only a few days later that Friday. What service . . . thanks Reid!

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: Bob's FS18

Post by Fuzz »

Hey welcome to the fun Bob :D
That floor looks too clean for boat building but that will soon change.
Strongback looks good for building on. You might need a couple of braces on the legs to keep it from racking.

Reid
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Reid »

Bob,

Welcome to the Forum! I'm confident you will get a lot of feedback as you progress thru your build, especially if you post pictures. Like Fuzz said, I would add some bracing for the legs of the strongback. I would also encourage you to add some heavy duty casters (with the ability to lock). Casters will allow you to move the boat around or outside if you choose to sand outside.
Good luck to you and I am eager to see your progress!!!
-Reid
Someone asked me, if I were stranded on a desert island what book would I bring... "How to Build a Boat."
- Steven Wright

Jeff
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Jeff »

Bob, Welcome to the Builders Forum!!! Glad to see you starting the FS18 build!! Again, welcome, Jeff

toadfish
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by toadfish »

Thanks for the welcome! Reid and Fuzz you'll be happy to see that I've made good on your suggestions in upcoming photos.