Carbon Fiber FS14 LS

Boats up to 15' for oars, power or sail. Please include the boat type in your question.
SeaWeed
New Poster
New Poster

Carbon Fiber FS14 LS

Post by SeaWeed »

Hello,

I just purchased the FS14LS plans and am considering a carbon fiber version. I saw a FS18 online in 2016 and it's been stuck in my head ever since. I recently saw Mike's "seaslug" build and decided that is what I would like over the SK14.

I work in R&D for a company that manufactures fabric and epoxy for applications requiring high stiffness and exposure to strong chemicals. We weave or stitch our own fiberglass, basalt, kevlar, and carbon fiber fabric. We also make various epoxy formulations for use up to 700°F. I have no experience in actual vessel design other than looking at making carbon fiber stringers for a large vessel but we were provided the required material properties.

Working in R&D I realize carbon fiber is sometimes a gimmick but I have access to some left overs so I figured it would be worthwhile. This includes hexagonal Jacquard weave, satin carbon/glass weaves, and even UHM carbon fiber which is stiffer and stronger than steel once infused and I will probably use to make a grab bar.

I am very knowledgeable in mechanical properties of composites as I have been doing this for 10 years.

I read previous posts that the issue with carbon fiber for this build is puncture resistance. I also read the hull stiffness is an issue because of the thickness requirements. It was mentioned the flat parts should not be an issue. I see the hull uses biaxial +/-45° glass so I would think the main issue is twisting resistance. We usually make quad axial fabric for boats.