McKee 16 hull weeping brown goo

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
Rob Eades
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

McKee 16 hull weeping brown goo

Post by Rob Eades »

My 2001 McKee 16 is leaking brown sticky liquid from drilled mounting holes on both the bow and stern.In both cases the holes are well above the sole and water line.The hull over all is solid and in very good condition.FYI, McKee hulls are completely foam filled just like a Boston Whaler.

Any idea what is going on here?

Rob

fallguy1000
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: McKee 16 hull weeping brown goo

Post by fallguy1000 »

OK, I'm a noob with a Whaler, but I saw your post, so thought I'd speak. I won't be the one to advise you on fixes.

I'd say you need to give a little more detail to your issue before anyone can really help assess the situation. Can you explain a bit better? Or give a picture?

Like, how long the holes have been there? Are they new? If you drilled new holes and brown sticky fluid started weeping, it would seem as though you have some ingress prior to the hole drilling caused by something else. If the holes are above the waterline, is there any other holes above them?

If they are old holes, you also may have ingress, but from the hole itself not being sealed well from rain or splash. If there is goo coming out of an old hole; it either wasn't sealed well or some pressures forced it out.

Furthermore, Boston Whalers do have wood in them in strategic locations. I cannot attest to the McKee, but another possibility is wood rot. I would try to find out if there is backing wood in the location of the goo. Remove a mounting screw and get out a dental pick and see if there is a cavity (rot) if you can do so nondestructively.