1979 19 ft Sea Ox rebuild

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
Mr Pamlico
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

1979 19 ft Sea Ox rebuild

Post by Mr Pamlico »

I have read through many rebuilds on this site, mostly privateer and Sea Ox builds, and I have recently started on my first. I have no previous experience with fiberglass or boat construction. I have the boat flipped over and had to work my way through layers and layers of bottom paint. I was using an angle grinder with a sanding wheel and I was too aggressive on the first side I started on. I realized this after the dust cleared. I purchased a dual action sander and had much better luck getting down to the barrier coat on the other side. My question is how can I fix the deep spots I have caused? Do I need to sand all the way down to the fiberglass and get it level that way or is there a way to fill these spots and level them out? There is filler on the back of the boat where the tunnel was put in but I want to make sure when I’m done that it is done right. This hull is going to see a lot of abuse from fishing and especially duck hunting.

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: 1979 19 ft Sea Ox rebuild

Post by Fuzz »

First welcome to our little group :wink:
I don't think you have hurt anything with the grinder. You do not need to take all the gelcoat off but you want it well sanded. What I write is based on the use of epoxy. Go over the whole bottom with some 40-60 grit until it is clean and sort of smooth. You can then mix up some epoxy with fillers and put it on with a trowel so its mostly smooth. Then sand and longboard for a fairing.
Post pictures as you go and ask questions. Lots of folks here will help and give good advice.
Fuzz

Mr Pamlico
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by Mr Pamlico »