1990 Privateer Roamer 20 ft.

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
theburren
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

1990 Privateer Roamer 20 ft.

Post by theburren »

Greetings! I’m a novice boater who just bought my current setup last year, a beautiful 1990 20 ft Roamer. I’ve decided to repower and in the process I found a pinhole leak I my 30 yr old tank. So I’m going to replace the tank and whatever else I need so I don’t have problems in the future. I don’t have any experience with fiberglass repair and honestly the build threads here are mind boggling for someone like me. So I’m going to try to get this beautiful boat’s fuel and stringers and deck sorted out. If I was able to find someone to do it for me properly I would in a heartbeat! Sadly, Myrtle beach has no such available tradesmen~. Alas, I’ll be learning how to fix a boat floor!
thanks in advance for any help—

Last edited by theburren on Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: 1990 Privateer Roamer 20 ft.

Post by Fuzz »

That is a great looking boat.
So you need to pull the fuel tank and replace it? And doing so will involve cutting up some deck? The good news is replacing the deck is not too hard of a job. I hate to say this as it could be opening Pandora's box but while you are at it I would check the transom and stringers. I have no idea how well the factory did building it but You are dealing with a 30 year old boat.

theburren
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by theburren »

Thanks Fuzz. Your expertise is evident as I have been reading through Slickcav and others previous projects. I really hope that I don’t have to rip the entire stringer system out but — it sure would be nice to gut it and replace it with dry wood! I really like this 20’

The transom seems SOLID.