mat australia sk14

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
mataus
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

mat australia sk14

Post by mataus »

Well here goes,

After stalking the forum here for a bit over a year, i have decided to start my first build.
I have no previous experience or expertise to get me through so i am hoping this forum will help with the "dumb"
questions.

I live on the Gold Coast in Queensland, Australia. If you have a quick peek at google earth you
will see there is an extended area of inland waterways and canals to explore plus a few dams (lake/impoundments/reserves) locally

I have been looking at different builds and plans and have come up with my list of requirements for my first boat.

1- easy , i have never done anything like this before and i would like to go onto bigger and better things so i didn't want this build to put me off.
2- quick, relatively for the same reasons above i would like to finish it in under 6 months for the same reasons.
3- cheap, relatively as i didn't want to purchase $1000s in timber and resin only to find i couldn't do it or didn't enjoy it.
4 - although this is a trial to see if i enjoy the build process, i didn't want a throw away product at the end that i wounldn't use or be proud of.
5- to be able to stand- there are a lot of good canoe plans, but i was nervous about their stability when standing as i like to fly/lure fish
6- small, for the above reasons of first boat, but i also wanted to power it with an outboard small enough to take off as some of our local dams are electric power only
7- i don't mind if it is trailered or car topped (i have a ute/pickup with roof racks)

So when the sk14 came out it pretty much ticked all the boxes! (i love the look of the fs14 ls and fs18 but one step at a time)