Building The Phantom 16

Power Boats only. Please include the boat type in your question.
HiImNuts2
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Building The Phantom 16

Post by HiImNuts2 »

Hi,
I have currently purchased a set of your plans to construct and build the Phantom 16 power boat. I have never built a stitch and Glue boat before (or any other boat for that matter) and have a few pre-start questions. My purpose for this boat is for fresh water use primarily fishing with my grand children and so I would like to modify the deck features of this boat more towards a bass boat design rather than a open cockpit design utilizing a center console. My question is, without reading through hundreds of posts, since one of the quality's of the Phantom 16 is it can be modified to just about anything in terms of deck design, has anyone ever modified the Phantom 16 for this purpose (Bass Boat Design) and are there any designs available for this task ?
Second Question. I have read and seen video on hull construction using plywood and the glue and stitch method, For a strong hull construction I had seen where a sandwich type (two pieces of plywood with a composite between them) is this the best way to build for hull strength ? Also, What is the best plywood material to build with ?
I would like to start gathering material well in advance of this project, If you could answer these questions it would be a great start. With the cash flow positive and the green light from the warden (my wife) I'm anxious to get started.
Thank You
David

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: Building The Phantom 16

Post by Fuzz »

Welcome Dave,