Panga 20 Concerns

Power Boats only. Please include the boat type in your question.
newavacado
New Poster
New Poster

Panga 20 Concerns

Post by newavacado »

Hi all. Bought plans and ready to start on a Panga 20 but am a little concerned about durability. I've built a open Glen-L 19' in the past so I have some experience. It looks like the between the deck and keel are completely sealed compartments. To me, I was always taught this is a special invitation to collect water and rot. I know this is "sealed" with epoxy, but that is only water resistant not impervious. I assume the other designs are like this also? Any thoughts. I will be spend most of it life on a trailer so that helps. Thoughts?

narfi
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Re: Panga 20 Concerns

Post by narfi »

Most of the boats here are filled with foam and sealed.
Sealing prevents water from getting in, If something terrible happens and water does get in, it has no place to go since the foam is already there.

Most of the boats here are self bailing, The sole is above the water line and the drains can be left open. This means no standing water when stored in the rain, etc.... so much less chance of water finding a way by your sealed sole.

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Post by Fuzz »

First welcome to this bunch. You will find us to be a friendly bunch.
To foam or not is the big debate.
You need positive floatation in any boat under 20 foot. How you go about getting it is up to the builder.
The foam in WELL sealed compartments does this and adds a huge amount of stiffness at the same time. If you hole the hull you will still float and that is a good thing :D
You can limber hole every thing and not foam. No chance of trapped water but the boat can flood and maybe sink.
I will say there are a number of boats built the the foam they sell here that are getting old and have shown no problems.
Fuzz

seaslug

Post by seaslug »