FS17 Build Planning

Power Boats only. Please include the boat type in your question.
Ak99999
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

FS17 Build Planning

Post by Ak99999 »

Good Evening all, I am a new member and starting on my journey of building my first boat. Currently, I have no boating knowledge other than what google has told me (right, wrong, or indifferent). My wife told me, I couldn't buy a boat, but she never said anything about building one. She knows I am building one and she is fine with it.

I have a few questions regarding my build, but before I get there let me tell you about my intended uses. I live in Seattle, WA and my intention is to primarily cruise around Lake Washington with the family or friends (4 adults). I would like to occasionally fish as well in Lake Washington (probably only with 2 or 3 adults). Eventually, I would consider venturing into the Puget Sound, but I worry about the salt and the maintenance nightmare it creates.

The build I am considering building is the Fast Skiff 17. The 17 foot is based on the space I have available to store the boat.

1) Is the FS17 the right build for my novice level? I already have woodworking experience, but no fiberglass experience. I am considering the CNC kit since the costs of this option versus acquiring all the plywood (and factoring waste) here is close.

2) I am curious about deck layout. I like the idea of the center console with the seat in the front, and a bench behind the console. Could I widen the console to sit two people? I would probably make the bench to accommodate two as well. Are there any other recommendations for a layout to accommodate four?

3) For all the "hardware" pieces like cleats, ubolts, lights, anything that screws/bolts into the hull, do I do this before I fiberglass and paint? or do I just screw it in after everything is done?