Salt Boatworks FRS15 Build

Power Boats only. Please include the boat type in your question.
RiggsWNC
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Salt Boatworks FRS15 Build

Post by RiggsWNC »

Hi all, about two weeks ago I got going on Salt Boatworks’ 15 foot skiff, the FRS15. I have been pouring over this forum for a couple months as I plan the thing out in my head, so I figured I will start a build thread in order to show everyone what I’m doing and ask better questions. This is my first boat build, and two months ago I had no idea how a boat was built or what an epoxy filet was. I’m using Okoume plywood, 10 oz biaxial, 6 inch tape for seams and MarinEpoxy resin. I’m located in Western NC, on the Catawba River.

I will begin stitching this week. Right now I have my hull panels scarfed and glued up. I will be posting pictures as we go along, but right now there aren’t any good ones.

I will be sticking to the plans for the most part, with the exception of adding a small center console for a remote steer 20-25 hp. I will be adding a bow mount trolling motor. Thanks all.

RiggsWNC
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Re: Salt Boatworks FRS15 Build

Post by RiggsWNC »

C69631E0-B4B7-4BB9-B572-5F2DF709ED76.jpeg
9C38525E-CF7A-4B49-A252-6D2CC77CAC39.jpeg
Here are some obligatory pictures.

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Post by Fuzz »

Nice work area! Should help keep things moving alone.

Jeff
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Jeff »

RiggsWNC, welcome to the Builders Forum!! We look forward to watching your build!!! Nice shop, do you have heat in there? Jeff

RiggsWNC
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by RiggsWNC »

Hi Jeff, you helped me with my epoxy order last week, thank you. The shop is heated and cooled.

I started stitching the hull together until I needed a second set of hands that I’ll get this weekend.
7430A1FB-5C1D-4791-85C9-7CDAB1D6235F.jpeg
CF2E993E-405D-4BE9-8455-892E372850D4.jpeg
724E5582-7D3B-4F3B-B93A-7259C529578C.jpeg

Jeff