Moonfish

Ask questions before buying our plans or request a new design. Anybody can post here
anonymous

Moonfish

Post by anonymous »

Hi

I was dondering if you guys think that 3 months is enough time to complete a moonfish or a ad14. Im a full time student I dont work so in summer is my spare time and I was thinking on taking on the moonfish as a little summer project since I already have a sunfish and enjoy it alot but it is in severe detirioration. Then I saw the AD14-16 and loved the design and I don't know if I am way over my head with this one timewise. I am pretty handy with wood and got the tools but as far as fiberglass goes I dont know anything about it. Reason I liked the ad14 is because it would allow me to sail to nearby puertorrican islands, (Im from Puerto Rico") Culebra and Vieques each is about 20-25 miles from big island. So thats my other question is the ad 14 capable of doing that type of offshore passage?

Thanks in advance guys

jacquesmm
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by jacquesmm »

Yes to sail from PR to La Culebra and Vieques. I know the place and the AD14 is capable of doing that without problems especially if you set sail from Fajardo.
To sail along the north coast in the trade winds can be a little tougher when it blows. The west and south coasts are easier and well within the reach of an AD14.
The question about the time table is almost impossible to answer but if you have all the supplies and tools ready, you should be able to complete an AD14 during your summer break.

PS: please register.
Jacques Mertens - Designer
http://boatbuildercentral.com

anonymous

Post by anonymous »

I had an account, but it says is inactive. Anyways thanks, I do have the tools and yes I did plan to sail from Fajardo.

babu_sneaky
New Poster
New Poster

Post by babu_sneaky »