Hull bottom materials?

Ask questions before buying our plans or request a new design. Anybody can post here
Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Hull bottom materials?

Post by Fuzz »

I see a thread going on alternant materials but I did not want to walk all over it.
My question is about using foam core in the hull bottom. I read where it is both good and bad to use a core for a glass boat and am wondering the thoughts are from here.

Lakesurfer
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Re: Hull bottom materials?

Post by Lakesurfer »

Fuzz wrote: Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:58 pm I see a thread going on alternant materials but I did not want to walk all over it.
My question is about using foam core in the hull bottom. I read where it is both good and bad to use a core for a glass boat and am wondering the thoughts are from here.
Im an expert on nothing especially when it comes to boats and i have the same questions. being in aviation with a majority of my experience in aviation composites it depends on application, for airplanes at least. the Boing 777x has a composite wing that has no core but is skin on frame. I believe wings need to flex slightly for some aerodynamic or structural reason. the 747 from the wingtip can flex up to six feet and again no core. in the fuselage they use a core as well as flight control surfaces, raydomes, landing gear doors and so much more. so from what i've researched and been trained a core not only get its strength from the core itself but from the skins as well. think of it like a platform made out of composites. one platform is made from only 5 layers of fiberglass and no core and the second has 3 layers of glass a core and 2 more layers of glass. the non cored platform will bend and be all kinds of flimsy where the cored platform with be a lot more stable and able to support more weight. the stress of the cored material is spread out a greater distance. and to make the non cored platform just as strong ass the cored, youd have to use several more