Advice needed on boat kits

Ask questions before buying our plans or request a new design. Anybody can post here
MarshallTX
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Advice needed on boat kits

Post by MarshallTX »

I have no real boating experience and very little wood working experience. I live close to a lake in Texas which typically has constant wind and some chop. I’m seeking advice on a few boats. I’m considering the D15 or the FS17 that I would use for fishing and general recreation. Would either be good choices considering my inexperience on the water, the light chop I’ll contend with, and my novice building abilities? Also, I’m limited to a 20’ single car garage for the build. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

VT_Jeff
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Re: Advice needed on boat kits

Post by VT_Jeff »

MarshallTX wrote: Thu Mar 04, 2021 11:13 am I have no real boating experience and very little wood working experience. I live close to a lake in Texas which typically has constant wind and some chop. I’m seeking advice on a few boats. I’m considering the D15 or the FS17 that I would use for fishing and general recreation. Would either be good choices considering my inexperience on the water, the light chop I’ll contend with, and my novice building abilities? Also, I’m limited to a 20’ single car garage for the build. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
The DS15 has a vee hull, will take the chop better than the FS17, and be easier to build, esp in a 20' garage.

How many people are you going to be fishing with?
There are only two seasons in Vermont: boating season, and boat-building season.

Completed Paul Butler 14' Clark Fork Drifter
Completed Jacques Mertens FS14LS + 10%, Build Thread
Started Iain Oughtred Tammie Norrie

TomW1
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Post by TomW1 »