Master Marine 28' stringer question

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
doug42190b

Master Marine 28' stringer question

Post by doug42190b »

Hello,
I have a 28' Center Console -- Master Marine -- built in the early 80's for reverend Moon -- some may remember those boats. I have been refurbishing this boat for several years by using "professionals" in the area. So far it has been awful! After 5 years I basically have gotten the transom replaced -- now 2.5 inches with 3 sheets of 3/4 ply plus about a half inch outer and inner skin. I have an Armstrong Bracket (30" setback) mounted with twin 200 EFI Merc's. That is truly about as far a all of these years has gotten me -- and it was never a question of $$$$ -- it was difficulty finding people who wanted to work that were skilled. The big shops were not interested so I had to go to smaller shops. Well, now I have taken the project on. I read, and read, and read everything I can get my hands on -- and bought videos, watched U-Tube -- read every Forum I can find. Now I will finish this project. I will get my wife to upload the pictures because everytime I do it, they are huge.
I have now removed the entire deck -- 3/4 plywood with 1/8" glass underside and 1/4" galss on top -- most of the deck was delaminated due to open holes every where. When I had the transom done (5 years ago), I asked about the condition of the stringers -- "they're good" I was told -- this weekend I found out that they are mush (boat has been inside for 4 of the last 5 years -- not under cover, inside a building)!

So here is my first question -- there are 4 stringers -- two inner stringers are 12" tall and the best I can tell are 7/8" thick and 2 outer stringers -- each about 5" tall and about 7/8" thick (7/8" on both is the plywood, not including the roven). The inner stingers are almost 16' long and the outer striners about 12 feet long.