VG26 Build - Start of a new project

Sail Boats 15' and up. Please include the boat type in your question.
Kerry Price
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

VG26 Build - Start of a new project

Post by Kerry Price »

Hi Jacques,

I have started to seriously plan and get prepared to build the VG26. I have some questions. But first, a little background and program description.

I have been boating for many years, starting with learning to sail small dinghys and catamarans as a member of the Rudder Club in Jacksonville, FL back in the early '80s. (Yes, I was a teenager.) After 8 years in the US Navy (USS Wisconsin BB64 and Samuel Eliot Morrison FFG13), I moved to Northern Illinois and enjoyed small power boats up to 22 feet. I ended up buying an old, wooden 1968 Pacemaker and lived on it for six months at a marina in Milwaukee. After I winterized it that final year and put it up on blocks, I sold it. That was 1998. Flash forward 22 years and I want to get back into boating.

I (we, can't forget the Mrs) am 5 to 10 years away from retirement and my ambition is to live part time on a sailboat in Florida. (By the way, I am a native Floridian and my family extends from Jacksonville to Lake County and up and down Brevard County, namely Melbourne and Cocoa Beach.) So, the program:
1. Based in Central Florida, preferably the Space Coast.
2 Frequent coastal excursions anywhere between North Carolina to the Florida Keys anywhere from 1 week to a couple of months.
3. Utilize anchorages where possible to minimize dock fees.
4. Self-sustaining for up to 2 weeks (water, electricity, fuel, etc)
5. Creature comforts a little better than "camping" on a boat, such as showering, entertainment (TV?, stereo equipment, etc), cooking, etc.
6. Ability to get underway and enjoy quickly with the essentials (paper charts, handheld gps, ssb, vhf, etc) but able to upgrade/modify as time and resources allow (autopilot, radar, solar panels, satcom, desalinization, etc.)