Alternate build methods?? long winded post, you've been warned

Ask questions before buying our plans or request a new design. Anybody can post here
Lakesurfer
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Alternate build methods?? long winded post, you've been warned

Post by Lakesurfer »

Hello,

This will be a long winded post with my main interest being alternatives to wood core, alternatives to expensive marine foam and solid fiberglass construction. Let’s get a few things ironed out first.
1. I have several years of experience with composite manufacture and repair in the aviation industry. I have all my own composite manufacturing tools for wet layup and vacuum bagging.
2. I have about zero experience with boat building.
3. I believe the wood core plans are solid and tested and would last for years but my brain will never get past having wood in my boat. For me a wood boat is like having a check engine light on in your car for something like your gas cap being cracked open. You know its fine but it will always bother you. I do not mean to sound like a spoiled brat but if wood core was the only way to go, I wouldn’t bother building a boat.
4. Im not concerned with the overall weight of the boat.
5. The boat would be used mostly as a solo fishing boat in the mid-west coast Florida flats and the occasional island hopper with my wife and daughter. And if im honest im sure she would only let me out a couple times per month anyway so at the end of the day it will be a light use boat.
6. Sometimes I start projects and sometimes I finish projects.
Here goes,