Is there a difference between fiberglass tape and fiberglass cloth?

See our FAQ and tutorials before posting.
JohnRennalds
New Poster
New Poster

Post by JohnRennalds »

Hello!

Please excuse my ignorance if this question doesn't make sense, but I can't for the life of me find any information out about it online (and yes, I am a first time builder so please be nice ;-) )

Or is the only difference that the tape has the adhesive on it so you can stick it directly onto the wood to keep it in place? And if so - does that mean then you could cut strips of the fiberglass cloth, lay that down and use that as the tape, stuck down with epoxy?

Reason being is that I live in Indonesia and it's hard enough to find Biaxial Fiberglass Cloth! Let alone the tape!

Thank you for your time, any insights would be highly appreciated!:)

- J

piperdown
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Re: Is there a difference between fiberglass tape and fiberglass cloth?

Post by piperdown »

The only difference is the width. Tapes can be 4-6 inches wide, cloth is usually 50 inches wide (at least here) but some specialty companies could have narrower or wider.

You can cut tape from the cloth instead of ordering it separate. Just order extra cloth and cut whatever width you need for tape.
Eric (aka, piperdown)

"Give an Irishman lager for a month and he's a dead man. An Irishman's stomach is lined with copper, and the beer corrodes it. But whiskey polishes the copper and is the saving of him." --> Mark Twain

JohnRennalds
New Poster
New Poster

Post by JohnRennalds »

Oh wow that's amazing! You are a life saver :)

I thought because it was called "tape" it had some sort of adhesive attached to it, no wonder I spent all day researching to try and find it here to no avail!

narfi
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Post by narfi »

JohnRennalds wrote: Thu Aug 12, 2021 10:13 am Oh wow that's amazing! You are a life saver :)