Where to sleep on the GV17?

Ask questions before buying our plans or request a new design. Anybody can post here
Klumpie
New Poster
New Poster

Where to sleep on the GV17?

Post by Klumpie »

I recently bought the GV17 plans and I'm excited about it!

I'm a first time builder with no experience, but I do have a lot of time and I'm determined to build the best boat I possibly can.

I'm planning a three year build, most of the time in my small backyard.

I already made the order for all the ply specified in the plans. I went for the quality stuff, Okoume from Bruynzeel. I wanted to buy the ply from BBC, but it would become to pricy to ship to The Netherlands.

I also bought a new single axle trailer, so I can finish her on the trailer after flipping the hull.

Goal is to make a comfortable and roomy two persons (and a dog) weekend cruiser.

Only protected waters with no interest in planning speeds; that's why I already bought a used four stroke high trust 9.9 HP Yamaha. That will be sufficient enough to move safely around.

I chose this design for the looks, I like it a lot!
I prefer straight lines and the more boxy looks. I'm the guy who rather chooses the old Volvo 700 above a new BMW or Audi sports car.

My children often do say that I'm stuck in the eighties, so maybe that also plays a roll why I chose this design, I don't know.....

This winter I make a 1:5 model first, to explore this design further and to see what the results are from the changes I want to make:

I will build the hull as designed. At this time I'm not sure to build her with a single side console or dual console. Choice will be depending on where I can create the sleeping area.
And there is my first question:

How far can I move the steering console to the aft to create a 2000 mm sleeping area beginning at frame A, so I sleep in the front of the boat between frame A and the console?

If that's not an option, can I move the consoles more to the front to create the same size sleeping area aft?