LM18 New Build

Power Boats only. Please include the boat type in your question.
Ryan
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

LM18 New Build

Post by Ryan »

Hey everyone,

I’ve been lurking for a while and decided to take the plunge and build small skiff. I opted out of the CNC kit and decided to buy my wood locally, I see now it’s going to take me an extremely long time! I see what a great community this is (this will be my first boat build) not new to working on boats or electronics, I’m an aircraft mechanic by trade so hopefully I can help out too… Look forward to talking with y’all! Here’s some progress pics…

~Ryan
Attachments
2C21CC35-5C08-46D1-ABE9-B00BDE9442E1.jpeg
9351AFB8-40F3-4FA5-BB7D-F8CFAB4985DF.jpeg
7B9F16DC-1310-4E6D-853F-56E3CCBA6110.jpeg
AF8679E2-2821-4C91-9722-DC8349AE912B.jpeg

VT_Jeff
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Re: LM18 New Build

Post by VT_Jeff »

Welcome and congrats Ryan! The LM18 is a sweet design for sure. Enjoy, best of luck and keep us "posted" on progress. Where located, and what are your plans for the boat?

Jeff
There are only two seasons in Vermont: boating season, and boat-building season.

Completed Paul Butler 14' Clark Fork Drifter
Completed Jacques Mertens FS14LS + 10%, Build Thread
Started Iain Oughtred Tammie Norrie

Ryan
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by Ryan »

I’m in the Swansboro NC area. I think I’d like to keep the boat pretty simple, tiller engine, poling platform, and a trolling motor. I have a big heavy bay boat now and would like a smaller poling skiff to redfish out of … I’m looking forward to it!!

~Ryan

Dougster
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Post by Dougster »

I love that first part of the build; the laying out of the lines and cutting them. Once a guy was being a bit a blow hard about a dingy he had restored and when learning my boat was being home built asked if it was a kit. Saying no was nice. We love the progress posts and the pics so glad to see this build started.

Dougster

TomW1