Pamet FS14

Power Boats only. Please include the boat type in your question.
PametBW
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Pamet FS14

Post by PametBW »

After retiring and building a shop in our back yard, this is the first boat that we will build.
I am a retired science teacher and have done some building but I am not a woodworker. I have almost no skills but now I have a shop and some tools.
We live in Putney, Vermont.
Thank you, in advance, for your analyses and advice.
The FS14 will be assembled of CNC materials.
Up to this point things have gone well. The strongback assembly was simple and all the frames are at the prescribed distances from the fore ends of the strongbacks. The positioning of the stringers appears to be pretty good to my eye.
frame and strongbacks assembled.jpg
frame and strongbacks assembled.jpg (118.05 KiB) Viewed 347 times
We screwed cleats to the sides of the bow mold and ran screws from the aft side of the bow frame into those cleats to hold the bow mold in place.
Bow Mold.jpg
Bow Mold.jpg (101.75 KiB) Viewed 347 times
Bow Mold attached.jpg
Bow Mold attached.jpg (104.08 KiB) Viewed 347 times
I had difficulty holding the bow frame and bow mold in place so I affixed a strap along the line for the bottom of the seat to hold the weight of the assembly while I screwed it to the strongbacks. Screwing it to the strongbacks did not seem like the right thing to do, but that is how I interpreted the instructions.
WAS SCREWING THE BOW FRAME TO THE STRONGBACKS THE WRONG THING TO DO?
Here is a pic of the board I used to support the bow frame.
Bow frame.jpg
Bow frame.jpg (99.28 KiB) Viewed 347 times
Moving aftward, there appeared to be nothing noteworthy about the frames so I did not include any specific photos until the transom.
We attached cleats to the stringers and screwed through the transom frame into those cleats.
Transom attached to stringers.jpg
Transom attached to stringers.jpg (104.74 KiB) Viewed 347 times