Pamet FS14

Power Boats only. Please include the boat type in your question.
PametBW
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Pamet FS14

Post by PametBW »

After a visit to Cape Cod I have made some progress.
The panels are on the frame and I just pulled them together with zip ties.
It is my first time doing this so I have tried to use some strategies described in previous build threads.
Those strategies included using 16d nails as spacers and gently attaching the side panels to the transom.
As this is my first time, I am fairly insecure about appropriate tolerances.
To my eye, all the seams appear okay.
Where all the panels come together at the bow is the sketchiest part so I would ask for advice from more experienced eyes please?
My hope is that it will pass inspection and that I will begin spot welding.
I intend to use EZ Fillet for the spot welding.
I think that I will crawl underneath and apply some masking tape to the inside to thwart dripping...
Please feel invited to comment and advise. Thanks, in advance.
Here are some pics:
a bow zipped.jpeg
b port forward zipped.jpeg
c starbrd forward zipped.jpg
c starbrd forward zipped.jpg (95.18 KiB) Viewed 1576 times
d port aft zipped.jpeg
d port aft zipped.jpeg (82.19 KiB) Viewed 1576 times
f starbrd aft zipped.jpg
f starbrd aft zipped.jpg (95.17 KiB) Viewed 1576 times
g transom view zipped.jpg
g transom view zipped.jpg (108.6 KiB) Viewed 1576 times

Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: Pamet FS14

Post by Fuzz »

To my eyes it looks like you have the front 1/4 of the side panels pulled in too much. You might try cutting a few zip ties and putting a larger spacer in where the bow panels come together. Do not worry if the gap looks really big. It is no big deal to fill a fair sized gap. Just make sure the side panels are fair. Other than that your work looks good. In truth it looks good enough now to glue it together and then clean up the bow area with a sander.

OrangeQuest
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster