Please Clarify Transom Rebuild Tutorial

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
Chessie
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Please Clarify Transom Rebuild Tutorial

Post by Chessie »

Being a design engineer (civil) by trade I am always leary about deviating from what the designer specifies as has been repeated on this forum over and over.

In the transom rebuild tutorial, it very clearly states to tab the cornerstone’s between the new transom, sides and bottom.

This is then followed by full sheets of glass beginning with the smaller and then increasing in size. I have always seen smaller to larger as the tutorial show.

The advice being given on pages 14&15 of the Grady White Overnighter build somewhat contradicts the tutorial. Even though it is being provided by well respected members, it contradicts the published “how to”.

viewtopic.php?t=66204&start=130

Can someone please clarify:

Tab or No tab corners.
Inner skin- larger to smaller or smaller to larger?

Thanks in advance.

Chris
Chris in Maryland

fallguy1000
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

Re: Please Clarify Transom Rebuild Tutorial

Post by fallguy1000 »

In all but the rarest cases or simple hole repair, glasswork is done largest to smallest. It is counterintuitive because our minds think shingle effect adds strength. In glasswork, thickness and no air entrainment are the key. And you cannot work smallest to biggest without air entrainment unless you are very good at laminating and making epoxy putties.

And when sanding, if your longest pieces are on the bottom; they never get sanded thru.

Tabbing is done one of two ways. Either with the same laminate as the transom or a separate piece. This also depends on skill level and time to layup. An experienced laminator may be able to tab with the transom laminates. An inexperienced laminator may need more time to do it well, Also depends on the size of the transom.